Question about brakes! Coasters....of course

GoldenMotor.com

Donavan321

Sep 27, 2012
Appleton, Wisconsin
Hello guys, I'm no beginner when it comes to builidng these motorized bicycles I've built over 30 of them! Anyhoo, I have this motorized vintage road bike and she's got a coaster brake..... is that an efficient brake system? Will I skid if i use it? is there a safe way to use it? I know it's esentailly a drum brake built into the hub. This is my very first motorized coaster brake bike, all my other bikes have had the calipers and pads. I have seen alot of pictures and videos on the net of people who build their motor bikes and they have coaster brakes on them and say they ride everyday but they never mention anything about the brakes except "oh I have coaster brakes instead of hand brakes" Let me know guys! Happy New years! Happy motoring! ;).duh.

Attachments

Last edited:

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
It's generally agreed that the coaster brake will work 'BUT' you really need to consider a brake on the front wheel also. There has been a lot of discussion here regarding the coaster brake and its reliability. I have two bikes with rear coasters but I run disc on the front. I use both when stopping and have yet to have any negative issues with the rear coaster.
One thing to remember is that about 60 to 70 percent of braking action is done by the front brake. Without one you're relying completely on the rear.
They were never designed to halt a bike at the speeds we can attain or the weight of the powerplant and associated equipment and rider. A front brake of some type would be a very good addition to that cruiser.

Tom

Greg58

May 1, 2011
Newnan,Georgia
I add front brakes to my builds, I'd like to be able to stop if the pedal side chain comes off. I had that happen as a kid, I probably looked like Fred Flintstone with both feet sliding on the pavement.

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado