Briggs and Stratton Model 6B S basic parts list?

GoldenMotor.com

Moisstink

Aug 2, 2013
Tempe
I am pretty new at this whole 4 stroke approach and have a Briggs and Stratton Model 6B S Type 901010 (I believe it is a 2hp engine) that I want to use on a boartracker type build on a 1940's cleveland welding cruiser frame. My question t is what is the basic parts list to get this thing going? I am going to fab my own engine mount and as many parts as possible on a cnc but I am wondering about what kinds of clutch or drive system would be good. I wanted to keep it chain driven not belt. and I was wondering what type of carb may work. The engine currently has a carb that is functioning but it is a suction type that is a little bulky and I wanted to go with a gas tank that is not attached to the engine. Thanks for all info. I am attaching a photo of the crank shaft side and a couple images of the engine. Thanks everyone.

Kevin

Attachments

MEASURE TWICE

Jul 13, 2010
CA
I bought a cheap float gravity feed carb for under 30 dollars on Amazon and use it on my Briggs 3hp 4stroke 80202 0430 engine. It almost worked with free parts from another engines air filter I was not using, but would not idle. Then I found it had to have the matching air filter for the specific carb. Ebay for a used box including the primer bulb for cheap and it runs fine.

I would have spent a little more on a carb though. If you get one have some adjustment mixture screw. Idle and if both then idle and high speed needle valve adjusters.

Lastly oil splash system of lubrication where I mounted the engine platform at about 17 degrees tilted back to fit the frame, it adversely affects the cranckcase breather valve letting more than just vapors back to the carb and wets the paper air filter. I am seeing about moving the valve to a remote higher point on the frame.