Few questions

GoldenMotor.com

geoldr

Jun 19, 2011
California
Hey guys, I am new to building these motor bike kits, but I am currently in the process of building one. I have a 66/80 CC kit. It has a 2 liter gas tank.
So first of all, what is a good oil I should use?
I have a motorcycle shop near my house called Cycle Gear, and they sell 2 stroke oil.

Also when mixing gas which gas do I buy? 87? 89? 91? And I understand that 2 litter is just a little over a half gallon. For the break in, for a half gallon I am supposed to put in 4 quarts of oil for a 16:1 ratio. Will .5 gallons + 4 ounces fit in a 2 litter tank? I mean is it exactly 2 litter, or is there a little more room?

Last edited:

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
First of all welcome to the forum. You'll need to become an active member before posting links however.

Your math is off a bit with your mix calculations. We recommend to disregard the 16:1 mix that many kit instructions say to use. We like to start with a 24:1 mix for engine break in. That means 24 parts gasoline to 1 part oil. Do not mix in the bike's fuel tank. Your gas oil mix should be done in a seperate container and shaken well before putting it in the tank.
Here's a calculator for you to use> Gas Oil Mixture Ratio Calculator

After a couple of gallons move down to a 32:1 mix.
Good luck.

Tom

DaveC

Jul 14, 2010
Boise, ID
Get a small 1 gallon gas can. Put a gallon of gas in it. Then add 6 ounces of oil for 24:1 After you run that gallon of mix through the motor go to 4 ounces of oil to 1 gallon of gas for a 32:1 ratio. You really shouldn't mix in the tank. It's possible to not get it mixed very well and you could suck up a glot of oil. That would foul the plug and make it almost impossible to start. Mixing oil and fuel in the tank is something you do only if you must.