Newbie Issues. Huge, HUGE newbie issues.

GoldenMotor.com

Should I switch to cruiser? I REALLY want it to work on this bike.

• Yes, you should.

Votes: 9 75.0%
  • No, not necessary.

Votes: 3 25.0%

• Total voters
Nov 23, 2013
Riverside, CA
Hi everyone!

I'm new to this whole motorized bike thing. I saw them being done on the Internet and I thought I would try it myself. The bike I ride is a Pure-Fix Juliet. It's one of those cheap road bikes I got at my LBS.
I have absolutely zero prior knowledge about these engine kits, aside from what I've seen on YouTube and on this forum.
After buying the engine kit (Flaming Horse 80cc black), I immediately wanted to start building it.
I ran into problems:
1) The pedals are too close together and they scrape the sides of the engine. (I suppose I could grind off the parts of the pedal crank arms that hit the engine...)
2) Main problem. The rear wheel is too close to the frame for me to mount the engine in the proper position. scratg

My questions are:
A) Would it work if I mounted the engine upside-down? Or rather, do you guys have any suggested solutions? I tried to show you guys through my pictures.
B) Can this engine kit even work on my bike or should I just switch to my old beach cruiser?

I wouldn't bring these ridiculous questions to you guys unless I was desperate. I swear I'm not trolling. Call me an idiot if you want; I just don't know where else to ask.

Anyone by pure chance in the Inland Empire, CA area? :(

I hope my uploaded pictures help.

Attachments

Last edited:

xseler

Apr 14, 2013
OKC, OK
It looks like you could add a couple links to the bicycle chain and move the wheel back. The engine won't run inverted that way.

I'm with Wayne on moving the wheel back.