Custom Rebuild, Many Questions....

GoldenMotor.com

vhatley

Sep 1, 2010
Oklahoma City, Ok. 73118
Picked up a basket case yesterday, it was froze up and I expected to find a bad set of rings rusted to the cyl walls. Boy was I wrong. The Cyl looked pretty good, normal scarring etc., as did the rest of the upper end of the motor. :)
Here's where the fun began. When I tried to turn the crank/rod assy I could only manage to turn the crank about 1/3 rd of a turn. :( Inspection revealed a bunch of crap in the crankcase, which I went to washing out using gas/oil mix to begin with.
This morning I woke to a still froze crank...crap replace it, full rbld. I've rebuilt over 200 car motors in my life and realize this isn't a small project, but is doable. But I'm an automotive mechanic and need to find out a few things.

1. How to remove the clutch components on the outside of the crankcase in a manner to keep from losing anything or having springs suddenly explode from everywhere, so I need some diagrams on this...first.

2. When I rebuild, I personalize. I would like to know if there are .010 over ring sets available anywhere. I want to hone the cyl oversized. I may could hit the local mower shop with the piston and rings to see if other 2 cycle rings would work, but at this point IDK. I've also been looking into other mods I can make in the forum already, piston, timing, etc.

3. Specialty internals. I haven't shopped for parts for this deep before. Any help here would be greatly appreciated, I'm on a budget...I have a wife, the bikes just my favorite girl.

Sorry about the length of the post, but I'm trying to get as much as I can before she changes her mind. I intend on shooting for improvements in distance survivability rather than top speeds, though they do seem to go hand in hand! dance1

Thanks for all the help, I'll be posting pics of Bubba a little later, he's the intended recipient.auflg