48 Whizzer H. Worth $3400?

GoldenMotor.com

DasNasenloch

Nov 18, 2010
Tulsa
Haven't posted since last year. Been reading just, not logged in when doing so. I've been in talks with Mike Steiff from Whizzerworks in Ohio about purchasing this bike. He is a VERY good guy. Very helpful and considerate. His asking price was $3700 and I've talked him down a bit to $3400. As I research more it makes me less sure. Also, I haven't made the deal yet, but I am leaning that way. BUT, if anyone knows of a better deal or a "bulletproof" expensive machine I'm open to it. My goal is reliability. I will gladly trade speed for reliablity (and maybe more torque-as I am a big guy-6' 4in, 240lbs). The bike will be a daily commuter. You see i've been pedalling an ebike 14 miles/weekday for 7 months. I got so very tired of riding around with a backpack filled with nothing but tools waiting for the next time my motorized bike would break down. It is a Gx50 with a SBP shift kit and 4G. Good setup (on my last bike which was stolen), but on that current bike... Screw it, I went electric. However, I played in two softball games last thursday after pedalling 14 miles and an 9 hour shift of Medical Lab work. My legs are still jello days later so I figure it's time to get motoring again. I am no stranger to working on my bike, however after 8 or so bikes, I thought I'd let someone else make it "bulletproof" and just buy it whole and have it shipped to Tulsa, Ok.

Photos exceed the allowable so I'll try this: http://www.flickr.com/photos/88978123@N05/ Hope it works... also, "The Animal" racing bike is on there too. I am thinking of perhaps purchasing it from "MikeyBike" in Chicago. Can't find any reviews from people who've bought from him though. -Mitch-

atombikes

Feb 14, 2010
Northern VA
I could be way off base, but I don't think I would want a 1948 anything to be a daily driver. Can't comment on the price, but both the Animal and the Whizzer look like fine bikes.

DasNasenloch

Nov 18, 2010