Grubee gt2 multi-speed?

GoldenMotor.com

shepdiesel

Jun 4, 2010
Indianapolis
So I have been drooling over the Grubee gt2 bicycle for a few months now and have finally convinced my wife to let me get one. My only question is can you get them in a multi-speed or convert them to a multi-speed? What I really want to do is switch both hubs over to halo spin doctor disc hubs and get a jack shaft to run off the multi-speed. so does anyone know if this will work?
thanks

BGRooster1

Nov 4, 2010
Fond du Lac,WI
Blowbyu says "Sold Out" . Pirate says "Sold Out". If you know better, please let me know. I want a GT-2 , but looks like no more are available . As soon as I can, I am going to take a GT-1 .

AslansMonkey

Oct 2, 2008
The short answer is "No", but people seldom settle for the short answer on this forum so let's put it this way...

The problem you will have to overcome is the width between the drop outs. It's designed for single speed hubs, or for internally geared hubs, which are the same width. In short, it's NOT designed to accept hubs that run traditional multi-speed cassettes.

Now, that said, several people I've read about have successfully "encourages" the rear triangles on other bikes to widen to accept these hubs and there's no reason to think this cannot be done with a GT2 frame.....

Well, ok, one other issue, you'll have to find a way to mount a derailleur. It's not designed for one so you'll have to get inventive, but it probably can be done. Take a look at the frame photos at Grubee's site to get an idea what you're in for.

matthurd

Dec 13, 2010
manchester NH
i remember a thread where a guy had a GT-2 crack on him after 3 weeks, he was not a happy camper.

tried finding the thread but i couldn't come up with it.

AslansMonkey

Oct 2, 2008