Chain falls off?

GoldenMotor.com

coppinskier

May 27, 2013
Logan, Utah
I recently got a motorized bike from a friend, and he has never had problems with it, but when when i ride it, depending on the try, when i press the clutch, the chain falls off, or when i stop, the chain pops of. The chain is definitely tight enough, heck, everything should be tight enough. I don't know if this is important but it makes the rear tire not work till i fix it, which sometimes meaning i have to carry it home since its jammed. Also, i have suspicions that its the tires fault since its kind of wobbly. Any ideas will help. I'm new to this so try to be explanatory!

Thanks!
:-||

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
Chain tension and sprocket/chain alignment MUST be perfect. The chain can be too tight. You'll want 1/2 to 3/4" of slack. If the sprockets and the chain don't run in an absolutely straight line you'll have the problems you're having.

Question: Is there a chain tensioner involved? If so, it too must be aligned with the chain and sprockets.

Tom

missle3944

Feb 28, 2012
California
Ya my chain seems to be going from tight to loose so I need to re align my sprocket. To top that off I'm pretty sure my sprocket and engine are not aligned either.

Dan

Staff
May 25, 2008
Moosylvania
A real good and simple way to check is just walk the bike and watch for wobble and listen. "Clink, clink, clunk" sounds mark an unhappy spot.

I have used a grease pencil to mark on the sprocket.

Just part of the fun, eh?
(really is fun though)

Dave31

Mar 1, 2008
Aztlán, Arizona
Before I ever ride a bike I always have my bike up on the stand during assembly and I always pedal the bike by hand forward and backwards. If I hear any popping, or the chain does not roll smoothly that bike never comes off the stand until the chain, tensioner,and sprocket is all working smoothly.