Mike's bike... of DOOOOOOOOM!!!

GoldenMotor.com

PAracer

Sep 14, 2012
Steelton, PA
So I'm getting a late start with my build thread, but late is better than never. This is my first attempt a building a motorized bike.

I picked up the bike from Craigslist. This was the pic that was in the ad.

Supposedly, the frame is a 1930's Elgin. The bars I believe are period, as is the fork. I can also see some vintage bmx and mtb parts on the bike.

The plan for the bike is to build a boardtrack styled, functional racer. It would be something that I can take to car/bike shows and also race when the opportunity arises.

This is where I was at a couple weekends ago:

What has been done so far?
Puch head
Pirate cycles sprocket adapter
36 tooth sprocket
#41 chain

I've got a couple things on order that I expect to recieve soon. From Sick Bike Parts, I have an expansion chamber and jets due to arrive on Friday. From Amazon, I have a leather tool bag coming. No tracking number, no ETA on that one:(

This bike needs more brakes. I can see a drum being added to the front.

I will add a bit of detail on these changes today. Hopefully this thread can be of use to folks that are planning similar changes and need help.

PAracer

Sep 14, 2012
Steelton, PA
My Puch head notes:

I picked up a Puch 50cc hi hi compression head from treatland.tv

I runs nicely with a single head gasket. Check your plug clearances before you start the motor. If you crash the plug, you will possible wreck the engine.

I am enjoying the increased cooling capacity of the head. The casting is a much nicer quality than the HT parts. I can't comment on added performance since I never did run the engine with the stock head.

This is an all around great modification. It's cheap too.