tryed everything need help

GoldenMotor.com

that guy on a bike

Mar 30, 2011
newmanstown, p.a.
Thank god i found you guys. I'm a newbie, and am working on my first ride. built this awesome 74 schwinn spitfire with a 66cc and a " high perfor. carb."
the thing ran great from the box. during break in miles my carb broke at the intake clamp. I was pretty far from away so with some twigs and electical tape i riged the thing on and made it home. Ever since the thing could barely run no matter my ingenuity,or the amount of " j b weld" i use. before i saw all the problems people have, I ordered a new P.O.S. carb. that i cannot get any "performance" at all out of.
I tryed all ajustments and float movements and dont know what to do. it runs but if i give it throddle it bogs down .can't be happy travel'in at 15mph.
hope i did'nt waste the 50 bucks. My wife told me to buy the cheaper one.zpt

BarelyAWake

Jul 21, 2009
Maine
um... you should only alter the fuel/air ratio (needle clip position) after checking the spark plug electrode's coloration. Yer after a chocolaty milk brown/tan color, gray/ashy = lean and you should lower the clip (towards the pointy end) black/oily = rich and raise the clip as Hammond suggested...

camlifter

May 4, 2009
acme labs marion ohio
well said nougat. i'm amazed at how many people think they can tune a carb just by moving the needle clip. if your main jet is to rich nothing you do is going to change that. other than rejeting to a smaller main jet.

that guy on a bike

Mar 30, 2011
newmanstown, p.a.
moving the clip has little change at all. ive been messing with 2 CNS carbs and they both