Engine won't turn over

GoldenMotor.com

Timo Tay

Nov 24, 2012
LA
Alright, so in all I'm fairly new to this. I put together my bike, after much struggle I got it to work, and it worked fine for a whole month. Now when I try to start it, release the clutch, it revvs up and then I can start pedaling keeping the engine in idle,throttle works and I can hear it revving but it refuses to turn over no matter my speed. I checked the carborator seemed fine, no cloggage or anything. I could really use some help on this thanks.:-||

Mr. Minecraft

Visionary
Jan 13, 2012
San Diego
Ok so first "turning over' refers to the piston's movement in the cylinder. If you can start the bike and it is revving up but not PULLING you, then your clutch needs to be adjusted. Take the cover off the right side of the engine and release the clutch. push the clutch plate in and tighten down the flower nut. Then loosen it a bit until you can roll the bike without the clutch catching when it is disengaged.

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
Ok so first "turning over' refers to the piston's movement in the cylinder. If you can start the bike and it is revving up but not PULLING you, then your clutch needs to be adjusted. Take the cover off the right side of the engine and release the clutch. push the clutch plate in and tighten down the flower nut. Then loosen it a bit until you can roll the bike without the clutch catching when it is disengaged.
DO NOT START MESSING WITH THE FLOWER NUT until you have determined if that is the problem. This is BAD advice to someone who doesn't undertand what the flower nut does and how to adjust it properly. If he can start it by pedaling then it's a good indication that the clutch isn't slipping. :(
I'm not clear on what the man's problem actually is. Messing with the clutch is not the place to start.

To the OP, could you please be a little more specific about what happens after the engine starts?

Timo Tay

Nov 24, 2012
LA