fuel octane and oil mixture

GoldenMotor.com

oneninesixnine

Oct 5, 2011
Hemet, CA 92544
Trying not to be irritating, please know that I did research. I found so many contradicting opinions that I was even more confused than before I began researching. Also, a lot of it was over my head (I'm an appliance repair technician, not knowledgeable on gas engines, much less a two-stroke). I've finished a Jet 66cc two-stroke build, stock except for the NGK spark plug, soldered wiring harness, silicone sealed mag coil housing & 1 gallon gas tank. I haven't even gone through the first gallon of gas yet. This is not a show bike. It is a practical, everyday transportation means. The bike is literally my car under all outdoor conditions due to the loss of my vehicles and DL. (Long story. Let's just say I've been sober for a year and a half at this time, one day at a time.) The engine has the CNS-V2 carb of which hasn't been tuned yet. Top speed is not my concern. 30 - 35 mph is plenty fast enough on a bicycle. My concern is reliability and longevity. A lot to expect out of a china girl. The break in period is unclear after researching. ??? I'm currently using premium gas, Lucas semi-synthetic 2-cycle oil, and Sea Foam Motor (Engine) Treatment (Cleaner). one person said he only uses premium. Another said that he uses regular, that regular fires faster and premium fires slower. Another person said premium will overheat the engine. Another person said any additives (cleaners and so on) to the gas besides oil will mess up the engine. Another person said more oil during the breakin period. One person said 8oz of oil per gallon during breakin period and 6oz per gallon thereafter. Another said to use 4oz of oil per gallon or less. And so on and so on. Completely confused. How many gallons is the breakin period? During the breakin period, I need to ride slower to keep the engine from getting as hot, right? What kind of gas? Gas to oil mixture ratio for breakin and thereafter? Will clean