Mount Angle for HT Bicycle Engine - 1st 4-stroke build ;-}

GoldenMotor.com

KCvale

Feb 28, 2010
Phoenix,AZ
Hi guys, I am new to the 4-stroke section here with my first 4-stroke build but I have a couple dozen 2-stroke builds under my belt so I'm not a rookie ;-}

I bought the Grubee HuaSheng motor with 4G T belt tranny kit ($375 delivered from gasbike).

How much of a backwards angle can I run this motor without a lube or carb problem?
With the springer fork and steep seat post angle I am a good 6° if not 10° back angle to conform to the back post mount.

As you can see I have little room on this Macargi Touch bike to go up.
Since I had to flip the motor mount plate around for the mount holes to line up and the front mounts sheer size the front mount can not be moved back any further without it covering the motor mount slots so I am in a bit of a pickle.

Thanks guys.

azbill

May 18, 2008
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Re: Mount Angle for HT - 1st 4-stroke build ;-}

I have always been advised to mount as level as possible,,,
these engines are splash lubricated, so they need it that way AFAIK

bandito

May 22, 2009
colorado

Yea if its angled it could cause problems especially going up or down a hill.

scotto-

Custom 4-Stroke Bike Builder
Jun 3, 2010
Ridin' inSane Diego, CA.

That little of angle won't make much difference, trust me. As for the mounting plate not clearing the mounting blocks......drill and tap holes into the blocks. Don't be afraid to experiment a bit, they're tough little engines.

dnut

KCvale

Feb 28, 2010
Phoenix,AZ

To get the motor level it had to go forward but the front bracket hit the vertical motor mount bolts preventing it so I had to break out the grinder.

Then with a new hole in the chain guard mount I was able to lower it an inch down closer to the pedal chain so the motor could go down more as well and she fits with just barley enough room to work that lame top mount choke lever.