New to site; but not to PAB's...

GoldenMotor.com

Davido

Dec 21, 2010
vancouver Island
Hi to all at motorbicycling.com. I've been riding for about 2 years have earned 3 tickets, all 3 were automobile fines. Up here in Canada cars appear to rule. There appears to be the thought that a engine is a motor to which it is not. A bicycle with a engine or a motor is still a bicycle or some call them Power Assist Bicycles. This appears to be the main issue up here on Vancouver Island. These PAB's are labeled as Limited speed cycles; yet, to ride these cycles(no pedals) one needs a drivers license and insurance. LSC also have a speed range up to 78kmh or just under 50mph. If my PAB runs out of gas it still rides like a bicycle and can still be ticketed as a bicycle. To my point if anyone is ticket my suggestion is to happily take the ticket, thank the officer and say, "see you in court". My last ticket was a $598. fine for not having insurance; eventhough, no insurance company will insure a PAB and the police know that. If by chance the fining officer does show request to file a full disclosure document. One of the questions could be where does it state that a bicycle with power assist is not a bicycle and is not governed by bicycle laws. As we all know bicyclists have less rights on the roads we have been forced to ride on not drive on. Not once out of the 3 tickets did the ticketing show. Thanks for letting me put my 48ccents worth in... Ride well and safe. Davido over and out.

Rockenstein

Feb 8, 2009
Ontario, Canada
My last ticket was a $598. fine for not having insurance; eventhough, no insurance company will insure a PAB and the police know that.
Did you attend court and defend yourself against that ticket? What was the outcome?

At this point in time only 1 Canadian province, Nova Scotia, has specific legal definitions and rules with regards to a typical bicycle that has been modified with the addition of an engine kit.

(.c) "bicycle" means