New 48cc Skyhawk No Start

GoldenMotor.com

Brent436

Feb 14, 2010
Massachusetts
Having a lot of trouble guys. Like I said in the intro forum, I'm not new to engines as i graduated top of my automotive technology class last year. However, this little 48cc Grubbee Skyhawk has got me stumped.

Its a brand new motor. I installed it and it took me a while to get it started. When it started it ran real rough and wouldnt idle. I let the motor stop running and I havnt been able to start it since then. That first start I was running the stock plug, 18:1 fuel mix, the idle screw at 4 1/2 turns out, and the carb c-clip was set at the 3rd notch from the top.

Since then I have sealed the carb/intake manifold with rtv silicone so no leaks there. Still wouldnt start. I moved the c-clip to the 2nd notch from the top and still no start but it would pop few and far between. I replaced the stock spark plug with a champion E3 diamondfire plug (they didnt have the NKG). Since replacing the plug it pops an awful lot, every now and then popping to the point I thought it may be starting but still no luck. Last night I drained the carb and gas tank and remixed to 22:1 fuel ratio (I did the math so i know its 22:1). Today I took it out and it was still popping with no start.

I have tested the plug and there is definitely spark. The plug is wet after turning it over a few times so i know its getting gas. I clean it off everytime I put it back in to try to prevent it from fouling up. The motor definitely has compression and I checked the magneto for loose wires and there definitely are none. When I drained the fuel i checked the float and there are no cracks and no gas in the float.

I'm in Massachusetts so its cold and I know its going to be hard to start, but it should have started at this point. I've been searching this site for a solution to my problem and I still havnt come up with anything so any suggesetions will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
-Brent

stv1jzgte

Feb 11, 2009