bad cdi i think? need real world ways to test

GoldenMotor.com

matthurd

Dec 13, 2010
manchester NH
so i'm pretty new at these things although iv'e read tons of stuff here, anyways my bike wont run at all anymore, i put it aside after its maiden voyage because of chain rub on the frame, got most of it taken care of today, went to try it (although thanks to a tight spot a single link would rub my frame the rest was fine though) anyways the motor wouldn't start and me and a few other people started looking for the problem and determined we didn't have spark, (also found out i'm apparently running to much fuel/not enough air into it since my plug was black and oily)

we did this by taking the plug out and rolling the bike at which point from what we understand there SHOULD be spark, but there wasn't.

we metered it but the posts i found were somewhat hard to understand so we're not sure how accurately we did it.

i'm not sure how these things work exactly so is there any other simple/fool proof tests to see what the problem is? and from there we can figure out what else may be wrong?

the only other change i made while we had it put aside was lossening the flower nut 2 notches to make pulling the clutch easier, iv'e since moved the nut back 2 notches to its original position to rule it out as a possible thing i goofed on.

thanks.

Goat Herder

Gutter Rider
Apr 28, 2008
N.M.
This is going to sound silly forgive me? But were you grounding the plug against the motor when checking for spark?

Hot Wheels

Jul 7, 2009
chicago
I don't know a good way to check your cdi, if you got another one change it. One thing I do know is DO NOT ground it to your frame, the black wire coming out of the motor is grounded if you ground your cdi to the frame it can short it out. I hope your running soon. brnot

Mac

Dec 3, 2009
Maine
Try this:

Use Low Ohm-Meter Scale About 200 Ohms

1) Check Ohms between BLACK wire and WHITE wire. Reading should be around 2 Ohms