how do i keep chain from rubbing my rear tire?

GoldenMotor.com

videomandw

Jun 24, 2010
indiana
hello,

i am installing a chinese two stroke in a schwinn riverside bike. this is my first motorbike build so i am new at this. i installed the motor and rear sprocket according to directions. when i put the drive chain on, i found it rubs the side of my rear tire.

i tried moving the motor over a little to the left but it still rubs. did i do something wrong? how can i get some space between my rear tire and drive chain?

any help would really be appreciated.

dave
valparaiso, in

moronic_kaos

Apr 6, 2010
Connecticut
hello,

i am installing a chinese two stroke in a schwinn riverside bike. this is my first motorbike build so i am new at this. i installed the motor and rear sprocket according to directions. when i put the drive chain on, i found it rubs the side of my rear tire.

i tried moving the motor over a little to the left but it still rubs. did i do something wrong? how can i get some space between my rear tire and drive chain?

any help would really be appreciated.

dave
valparaiso, in
Put the sprocket on inside-out, if the teeth are offset a little to the dish. It doesn't look like it would do a whole lot of anything but it does make a lot of difference.

If that don't work, you'll need a thinner tire. Usually, you can down those tires from 2.125 (standard stock cruiser whitewalls) down to some 1.75 width ones (there's various sizes in between too) while keeping the same rims. Get the ones with a kevlar band in them (usually the same price as the regular tires), & the SLIME tubing. Pulling those rear tires off is a real pain if you get a flat on the road (master link, aligning the wheel just perfect between the two chains, pulling your 40 pound bike on and off a rim, making sure the thing doesn't fall over & spill all your gas out with one of the wheels off, etc), so you want it to be as resistant as possible. Might as well solve two problems at once.