Boost bottle

GoldenMotor.com

thdrduck

Mar 6, 2012
Midwest
Trying to figure out how the Boost bottle works. I have been turning a wrench on small engines for about 40 years and thought I could reason just about anything to do about them out. Now I am really puzzled. I put my first bike together (classic 2 stroke 66cc china motor) on a Schwinn cruiser. It's been a bit cold to put many miles on it, but I have been riding it to work out the bugs (maybe have 50 miles on it). I bought a Boost system for it but didn't install it because I read that it was a waste of time. Today I rode it to town (about 15 miles) against a strong head wind and wasn't really impressed with the way it performed. I got home and installed the Boost Kit just because I had it and had some time. I don't really know if I gained any power, but it sure did make the thing run smoother. I had to turn the idle way down ( seemed way more touchy that way) but got it to run way better. I don't understand how the stupid thing works. Or why it works. Anyone??

Basement Cat

Mar 14, 2011
Florida
I think it runs off the principle of helmholtz resonators (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Helmholtz_resonance). Supposedly, the resonance of the air in the bottle will help prevent blowback out the intake port by a small amount which would improve performance by limiting the loss of your intake mixture out of the intake port when the piston is desceding.

From my experience boost bottles offer no performance gain and are simply a placebo.

motorhead419

Jul 6, 2009
ohio
I think it runs off the principle of helmholtz resonators (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Helmholtz_resonance). Supposedly, the resonance of the air in the bottle will help prevent blowback out the intake port by a small amount which would improve performance by limiting the loss of your intake mixture out of the intake port when the piston is desceding.

From my experience boost bottles offer no performance gain and are simply a placebo.