Engine Break in time

GoldenMotor.com

ndimatteo

May 19, 2010
Grand Island, NY
Hi guy's, I'm new to the world of motors and putting motor's on bikes ... I got my bike motor on and running well in a few hours, now it's tweaking time!! What i really want to know is how i should be operating the motor in it's beginning stages of life. Can i run at full throttle, if so how long? If not how long should i wait? Any information on the break in time of a 2 stroke motor would be helpful!!

Thanks all ...

Last edited:

GearNut

Aug 19, 2009
San Diego, Kaliforgnia
Do not run it at full throttle for any length of time!
Vary the throttle position and never keep a steady speed for more that a few seconds.
The typical break in is 1 gallon of gas. Then you can open up the throttle at leisure.
Keep in mind that after break in, if you run it at near full throttle all the time, it will wear out quickly.
I am sure others will post their techniques soon...

Mac

Dec 3, 2009
Maine
I suggest watching hot hot it gets initially, I feel it should be ran and shut down several times during the first couple of short runs, it has always worked for me, should be able to touch the head after shutdown BRIEFLY. good luck!
Mac

Venice Motor Bikes

Custom Builder / Dealer/Los Angeles
Mar 20, 2008
Los Angeles, CA.
I cuncur with the 'just ride it normally' crowd... (You're not gonna hurt it.)
Always make sure it's good 'n hot before ever bringing it up to full throttle!!

I use 2 gallons of 24:1 gas/ oil to break 'em in. It will still keep running better & better even into it's 5th gallon of gas; so don't worry about trying to tune it for speed until then!! (^)

AZMotorbiker

May 20, 2010
Chandler, Arizona