scraping noise all the time.

GoldenMotor.com

beserkr

Mar 3, 2012
Mesa Az
Ok so i just built this bike with a two stroke China motor. From the first time i started it it has a scraping noise that is so loud at times it is louder then the exhaust. The noise is almost constant, idol excel decel clutch pulled in or let out hot or cold it makes no difference. I am a mechanic and know engines but can't figure this out without pulling the whole thing apart. I assume its not the clutch or any parts there because the noise is constant and clutch action doesn't affect it at all. I have removed all side covers and looked for marks and found nothing. its a metal rotational noise sounds like i lasts for 3/4 rotation of the crank.

The_Aleman

Jul 31, 2008
el People's Republik de Kalifornistan
Some of them do that more than others. Over time it diminishes somewhat, or your ears just lose that frequency of hearing :D

Basically you'd need to tear it apart and find/grind what's causing it. But you can also just keep running it while wearing earplugs!

My last 2-stroke, a GT5, was a real loud one for the first couple hundred miles. Eventually it settled in and ran great til I sold it later.

Bikeguy Joe

Godfather of Motorized Bicycles
Jan 8, 2008
up north now
Well.....they don't all do it.
I have never had one make a scraping noise. Use the old screwdriver as a stethoscope and listen to various parts of the engine to determine where it's coming from before it becomes catastrophic.
Pay particular attention around the clutch area.

beserkr

Mar 3, 2012
Mesa Az
Well.....they don't all do it.
I have never had one make a scraping noise. Use the old screwdriver as a stethoscope and listen to various parts of the engine to determine where it's coming from before it becomes catastrophic.
Pay particular attention around the clutch area.