Need some advice on buying a 2-stroke engine kit! Noob here with Road Bike!

GoldenMotor.com

FractaL64

May 8, 2013
Canada
Hey guys, I have this really awesome bike that is almost 20 years old, it's in fantastic condition (given to me by my grandpa), he bought it in Toronto in the 90s, and it's 10x more durable than any bike ive ever owned previously. Needs some cleaning as you can see though (Actually going to go do that now).

So I'm wondering, what is the best possible engine I can get for this bad boy (I noticed people usually use huffy's for their bike builds).

I was checking out motorizedbicycle.ca (Since I live in Ontario, Canada) and I noticed that ad from bikeberry.com which seems nicer since there is a HUGE variety of engine kits on there.

What would you guys recommend to me for this bike? I can take some measurements if need be.

MY BUDGET IS $300 USD.

Thanks guys!!!

Bike pics:

Last edited:

FractaL64

May 8, 2013
Canada
Hmm it seems like my thread has disappeared! So guys, what is the best brand of engine I can get that will LAST me the longest without having to maintain the crap out of it.

Considering these things are all manufactured in China, their quality likely isnt the greatest, but I'd love to hear some opinions from everyone!

Budget is 300 dollars.

dankorczak

May 8, 2013
NJ
As a noob myself, I too will be watching this thread. I'm in the same boat, where I'm looking to spend no more than 300ish at the absolute most. The easier on the wallet, the better!

Anyway, as someone who is just getting into motor biking, what kit/route should I go with?

Mar 31, 2013
RI
...high guys, i'm new around here too and new to motorized bikes as well so i have no experience to offer other than a month's worth of lurking and studying.

...so with that said here's a link to a thread authored by a fella who seems to know a thing or two about building these bikes and i think if you take a look at some of his builds you'll have to agree.