Acorn nuts will destroy your engine

GoldenMotor.com

stevenflintrichards

Apr 28, 2012
flint michigan
i am a noob to bike engines but to small engines i am not , i have over 15 yrs experiance but f*%$ me running them acorn nuts made the studs bottom out on my first engine pulling the threads right out of the block . some day when i am bored ill get a heli coil set and rebuild that engine and either sell it maybe build a bike and sell it or keep it as a back up or for parts

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
Problems with the pretty chrome acorn nuts that come on most engines is nothing new. They have caused builders a lot of problems, some of which go undetected until the head gaskets start leaking or blow completely. The problem seems to be an inconsistancy in stud length or how far the studs are threaded into the case. If the stud is not seated properly, or is too long, the acorn nut will not tighten sufficiently against the cylinder head to allow for a proper seal at the head gasket.

Many/most of us replace the acorn nuts with hex nuts torqued to the proper value for the stud diameter before ever starting the engine for the first time.
Some have never had a problem with the acorns but enough have that we always suggest to toss them, or use them for ballast.
Tom

Al.Fisherman

Sep 9, 2009
Calera, Alabama
Ummm, someone hasn't been reading the stickies!!! :>(
I replace all the studs with metric 8.8 (approximately a USS grade 5), use flat washers and locking nuts. I insert the studs to the bottom and back them out 1/8 to 1/4 turn. Not even good for a ballast, or fishing weight, but not bad in a sling shot.

Pre instillation of a HT

Last edited:

Drewd

Jul 25, 2008
Colorado
I install new studs and JB weld them into the block. If I use acorn nuts, they are decorative only over real nuts.

stevenflintrichards

Apr 28, 2012
flint michigan