Chain driven chainsaw build

GoldenMotor.com

elliotsimonster

Jun 15, 2009
asdf
Hello,

I am a bored college student home for the summer, and I really enjoy building various things. I have always wanted a motorcycle, and I was thinking about attaching some kind of engine to my bicycle.

The bike is a Pacific XL 2 26" mountain bike (21 speed). I have looked around quite a bit, and have decided to do a chain driven install using a chainsaw engine. I don't have the engine yet, but I'll be checking craigslist for the next few days to see what comes up (hopefully something around 40cc).

I plan on welding an additional sprocket (~60t #41) on the opposite side of the factory gear system on the rear wheel. Then, I plan on welding another sprocket (~8t #41) on the drive system of the chainsaw and connecting the two with a #41 chain. This should allow me to retain use of the pedals in case there is a problem.

I have ran the calculations for the setup, and it says the max speed should be around 37mph@3600rpm, which is very reasonable. I weigh ~120lbs., so I am going for something around 20-25mph for cruising. I know that the optimum gear ratio is 10:1-12:1. Should I get a larger sprocket for the rear tire to increase the 7.5:1 ratio I already have? Why are people using jackshafts and gearboxes if they can just directly connect the engine and wheel via a chain?

Another thing I am concerned about is the clutch system. I know that chainsaws have a centrifugal clutch. Can I utilize the one that's already on there and just weld on a sprocket to the output shaft? Why would I replace it with another clutch assembly or remove it like others do? Sorry if I don't understand this concept correctly..

Thanks for all your help!

Cabinfever1977

Mar 23, 2009
Upstate,NY
10t on engine , 44t on rear wheel.
a jackshaft is so you can shift gears for the engine like a car.
conecting just to the rear wheel the bike will run like its in 1st gear all the time.

elliotsimonster

Jun 15, 2009
asdf