building shift gearing

GoldenMotor.com

old motorbike

Sep 21, 2008
Fl.
Haven't been around for awhile, but keep my motorbikes going.

Have an in frame CAG single drive 26" that I'm building a shift kit for.
I'm looking for an average gear ratio that would be good for a start.

I'll have 3:1 trans, 2:1 to jackshaft, 4:1 to front sprocket.
If I figure right ?, I guess that's 24:1? I'm not good at math!
Then about 1:3 (depending on which gear it's in) to back wheel.
Which would be 8:1?
Don't know how to figure rear wheel rpm, It's an 80" circumference.

That seems like it may not be geared down enough?
would like to keep engine to 3-5k for cruising at about 35mph.

Thanks for any help.

old motorbike

Sep 21, 2008
Fl.
Would like to fab this like the SBP shift kit only using a cag engine.
The main reason (other than just fun) is to reduce the rpms for less vibration while cruising and better acceleration. The drivers here will just run you over if you're not fast enough say from a red light. (Then I'll see how long the bicycle chain lasts).

My other bike takes off fast with a cvt, so I can dodge the cars out there.
.duh.

Attachments

old motorbike

Sep 21, 2008
Fl.
Thanks Dan, For being kind enough to respond. It's always good to see your smiley with the aviators hat and goggles.
I was beginning to doubt of this being of any interest to anyone here.
Parts still coming. New headlight also.

Attachments

Dan

Staff
May 25, 2008
Moosylvania
Looks like she is a really comfortable ride. Really like the muffler. DIY? I had just made one out of EMT, electrical conduit. Worked well enough all bolted together. Then got a welder, wohoo, is that thing fun. Just learning do welds are fugly but hold well. Used a plumber's blow bag at the end. Silly dang looking thing. Hope to be able to make one like yours some day. Vid of mine. RiverSide :: whisper drive/HF Engine/clog-Free muffler video by dan3xd - Photobucket