Moto-Guzzi "Neva-Lost" Board Track Racer

GoldenMotor.com

Toofat2fly

Jan 11, 2012
PA
Ciao!

This is my first attempt to build a board tracker, so as we move ahead, I may succeed in some areas and some larger parts will end up as my Grumman canoe anchor.

The only Italian Moto-Guzzi Board Tracker in the world

MOTO-GUZZI NEVA-LOST RACER

With the snow coming down and no chance to ride, things got a bit boring and I decided to do something with one of my Guzzi Chiu mopeds. I don’t think anyone is really going to miss it??? Starting point is a 1976 model Guzzi Chiu, partly due to being already registered and insured. I never really used it, since I have 2 that are in better shape than this.

After reading this forum, I decided that instead of a restoration, it was more fun to cut it into pieces and make a unique Guzzi Board Tracker. I saw many great pictures on this website and more and more I thought about it, this definitely was going to be a good project!
Here’s the poor Italian organ donor. To take motor out was about 3 minutes, since its hanging from the frame with 2 bolts and 3 wires. Now I know how to be faster with next motor removal, the rotating nuts are on right side.

The motor will be fitted first as is, but I have a Polini 65cc kit for it. This makes peddling uphill’s a bit easier.

So, my intension is to glue, weld and duct tape together a Guzzi Board Track Racer, similar to the old 1920’s velodrome motor bikes. Living in Pennsylvania, which is famous for 1920-30’s board track racing such as Altoona and Uniontown tracks this approach makes sense.

In reality, there were no Guzzi bikes running on 2x4 wood planks, mostly just HD’s, Indians and other domestic ones. The real ones did not have brakes or gears, I will cheat a bit and will install drum brakes and use the Guzzi automatic transmission.

Why use a running moped?
With just bicycle frame, I have little luck explaining to the LAW that it is a moped. To register it is expensive and time consuming.