Debating btween 2 frames-opinions please

GoldenMotor.com

Amanda

Aug 24, 2009
MO
Hi all,
This is my first build. Any advice is appreciated.

I have no mechanical experience whatsoever but am eager to learn.
So I've ordered a little motor from thatsdax and am debating between 2 frames. I've been taking apart and putting together a couple of bikes to familiarize myself, you know, learn to use a wrench and the tools that I used to call "the L's" but now know are Allen keys laff!!

Now it's time to clean up the basement to prepare for motorizing.

I was going to motorize an old giant acapulco hybrid/mtn bike. The frame is around 20". The reason I wanted to motorize this bike is that it's a little too big for me to use as a pedal bike. It also has plenty of space.

The second bike is a giant iguana from a police auction. I bought it because the frame is smaller- 16 or 17 inches, so it's more my size (5"4 woman). I bought this to motorize or use as a regular bike.

They are both in not too great shape. The front forks of the giant iguana were bent, so I hammered them in place. Not too sure if that's a problem. I can probably switch the forks so that the acapulco fork goes with the iguana frame, haven't checked yet to see if they fit, but it's likely.

As a bike, the giant iguana fits me better. How much does the size of the bike matter when riding as a motorbike? Also, does the amount of space for the engine matter? Would you rather a tighter fit or more space? Do you rather a smaller bike or a bigger bike? How does frame size effect stability or does it?

Thanks!
Amanda

Amanda

Aug 24, 2009
MO
frame 1: giant iguana

frame 2: giant acapulco

which one- iguana or acapulco, and why?

Last edited:

Amanda

Aug 24, 2009
MO
The Iguana looks like it would be a little tight.

I would not use forks that were repaired with a hammer.