Authentic-ish Harley boardtrack build (any input?)

GoldenMotor.com

bird

Dec 5, 2011
prunedale, CA
I am a noob to the forums but i do own a few motorized bikes. I had a crazy idea lately to do a pre 1916 style single to putt around town on the weekends. Been working on a fiberglass tank mold for the past month or so and finally fitted the first one to a custom frame. Thinking of using a 4 stroke 1930's JAP engine or possibly a gravely or villiers. I truthfully, am stoked as all **** this only took two days or so to make the frame out of old schwinn parts and steel tubing. cost, zero bucks:) I still need to build a springer front end and machine some engine mounts, build belt-drive, balloon tires ect.. Cant wait to get this rod on the road! I sprayed some artificial rust on the tank to give it a barn fresh apeal. The rear stand is spring assisted so it automatically springs up or down into place when you gently move it into position.

I will keep this updated as I make progress on it!

Attachments

Last edited:

axelkloehn

Sep 22, 2011
Germany
JAP engine would be great, not cheap to get here and mostly not in working condition. Like the proportions of tank to bike. Welcome around here, Axel

bird

Dec 5, 2011
prunedale, CA
Thanks for the welcome! Old engines aren't too hard to come by in my neck of the woods, as I live in a small ex-farm town in Cali. I'd love to be able to get these things on eBay but I have to wait til I turn 18 so my pops would be cool with setting up a credid card account:/

GearNut

Aug 19, 2009
San Diego, Kaliforgnia
Welcome to the forum!
You do nice work! Fiberglass is one thing I have not worked with yet, but I have read up on it extensively. I have been contemplating building one of these in the future:
http://motorbicycling.com/f44/velocars-other-interesting-vehicles-34913.html

On another note,
Instead of using a credit card for online purchases, may I suggest using a Green Dot card instead?