converting from two stroke to four, questions

GoldenMotor.com

cobrafreak

Feb 16, 2011
sacramento ca
My 2 stroke engine seized after 1250 miles. Not too bad for a two stroke I guess. That works out to .10 cents a mile. I pushed the button and ordered a complete four stroke kit. Not the 4G belt drive one but the grubee with the gearbox with the 3 big gears inside. I don't have it yet, it will probably be delivered in a week and a half. Bear with my stupid questions as I am new to four stroke:

1. Can I use the same 415 chain size from the 2 stroke engine?

2. I've seen others do this but want to ask anyway, can I remove the forced cooling shroud as it is a moving vehicle. Not the sexist thing around with the shroud on.

3. The ad for the grubee 4 stroke kit says the gearbox has a "wet run option". Does that mean it is possible to seal the gearbox to run with oil? If so, what needs to be done to do this?

4. I really like pedal start like my two stroke had. Is it possible to make the 4 stroke engine pedal start? If not what would need to be done to accomplish this? I would like to do this to delete the pull start lever for a cleaner look.

5. Any worthwhile upgrades or mods for the 4 stroke kit for more functionality, performance, or longevity?

Thanks ahead of time for the help people!

ocscully

Jan 6, 2008
Orange County, CA
Yes you can use the 415 chain, most builders do unless they are using the 4-stroke shift kit.

Yes you can remove the cooling fan shroud. I ran a series of tests monitoring the head and engine temp with a had held Laser Thermometer last summer on my Honda motor removing the various pieces of tin and finally the shroud and saw no increase in temperature readings. I did put the shroud back on though due tho the fact that the cooling vanes on the flywheel were shredding the cuffs of my jeans.