engine from tsunami bike

GoldenMotor.com

nodar

Jun 27, 2009
dartmouth , NS
Hi, the engine I have is from a company in toronto called tsunami bike in Toronto. it's a chinese engine, a bit of a no name thing. I'm just learning about engines so the problem I'm having is properly setting up the carborator. On mine there is a lever that is just behind the air intake and a screw opposite the fuel line. Can I reasonably assume the lever is some sort of choke and that the screw is the needle? Assuming that this is correct, the choke is on until the engine is warmed up? Also how do I figure out the proper needle setting (this controls air/gas mix?) do I screw it all the way in and back it out until it runs smoother?

much thanks if you can help me out.

Rockenstein

Feb 8, 2009
Ontario, Canada
Hi nodar...

I have the same Tsunami engine as you, great bit of kit if your nice to it...lol

Yes the lever your seeing is the choke lever, lever up for full choke. Mine likes to be choked on cold starts and once it's running I idle with half to no choke until the engine warms up and will take throttle input without hesitating. The screw you mention is the idle speed screw, it does nothing except adjust the opening of the throttle slide. To adjust your idle speed start and bring your engine up to operating temp then adjust the idle screw in or out until you get a nice smooth idle...you want your idle rpm's not too high, not too low.

nodar

Jun 27, 2009
dartmouth , NS
hey fellas,