need some help

GoldenMotor.com

GoreWound

Dec 1, 2014
Canada
lets say I was going to put a gx35 inside my frame, what transmission should I use? I am avoiding jackshafts, and shift kits because of simplicity and legality (not allowed multiple gears.)

right now I am looking at either a 4g or a pitbike torque converter. I am aiming for something that is relatively easy to attach.

if anyone has any experience with this sort of thing, or a particular method/part they want to let me know about please do so.
thanks for the help.

also if anything I said up there is total madness and you are horrified to have read it, please tell me. I'm still pretty new to this.

Trey

$50 Cruiser
Jan 17, 2013
Where cattle outnumber people 3 to 1.
Horrified? No sir. Get some!
I would say that I hope your frame and brakes are up to the task.
Also, a torque converter is a proven solution. I do not have experience with the set up you mention, but someone will come along shortly with specifics, I'm sure.
There are threads that discuss it, but I can't remember one off the top.

Good luck!

zean

Dec 5, 2010
california
Hi GoreWound. You could mount the gx35 to a q-matic, or fit a staton-inc outside-drive gearbox to the gx35 and mount that in the frame with the giant stiletto mounts to a horizontal piece of pipe with the appropriate diameter and the ends flattened using silverbear's hockey puck mount, or you could fit the giant stiletto mounts to a horizontal plate and use that "U" mount on the down tube. At any rate, Dave staton could make a mount as you prefer I think.

GoreWound

Dec 1, 2014
Canada
most of the torque converters I am seing out there seem to be being used on higher cc motors, am I going to see a serious loss of power through driveline drag if I go with a torque converter on a GX50?

Motor awesomeness

Nov 3, 2014
Illinois
Yes if you use a torque converter for higher cc's (higher stall point) it will cause a lot of heat and drivetrain losses. Go for a low stall converter.