Mounting a Slant Head?

GoldenMotor.com

Sparks66

Nov 4, 2009
San Jose, Ca
So I was riding my motor bike home from work and saw another guy going the opposite direction.
He turned around and caught up to me. His bike had all the cool stuff like a custom expansion chamber and custom gas tank. My bike is generic. He said I should get a slant head to get more power. Well, I ordered one for 12 bucks. Seems like a small investment to me. I am a newbie so I have a few questions. What do I have to do to change heads? Do I need a new gasket? Is there a gasket? Can I make a gasket if I need one. Can I reuse the original gasket? Will it fit without any problems? Was it stupid for me to order the slant head being clueless and all? Any help would be highly appreciated.

skjjoe

Mar 9, 2009
Boerne Texas
depends on where you got the motor from.they dont all mix and match.you should be ok if you got the motor and head from the same dealer

Pablo

Master Bike Builder & Forum Sponsor
Dec 28, 2007
Duvall, WA PNW
www.sickbikeparts.com
What do I have to do to change heads?
Do I need a new gasket?
Is there a gasket?
Can I make a gasket if I need one.
Can I reuse the original gasket?
Will it fit without any problems?
Was it stupid for me to order the slant head being clueless and all?
1) Four nuts off, four nuts on. Proper torque. New HG. Retorque 2-3 times (ride cool torque, repeat). Torque depends on stud and engine size and thread count. Get rid of the acorn nuts and use real nuts.

2) I say yes because the mating surfaces will now be different. I have reused HG's with the same head but not changing heads.

3) Yes.

4) You can make one if you are handy, but they aren't expensive.

5) See #2.

6) It should fit. The biggest problem is that the mating surface will not be flat. You might need to lap sand it on wet dry paper on a piece of glass. Mine was VERY unflat. More tightening will not help.