Grubee Skyhawk - No Start - Help!

GoldenMotor.com

thejdoe

Apr 29, 2011
AR
This is my first bike engine. I've put it together, and it won't start. Someone please help. It's never been started. I've checked the clutch lever - I've got plenty of free play. Other than that, not sure. I disconnected the kill switch, still no start.

Can the engine start without the wires from the throttle being connected?? Anyways, I'm SURE I've done something wrong, I really don't suspect I've got a bad part somewhere. Like I said, this is my first engine, and I am not experienced with this sort of thing. I'm pretty savvy, but this one stumps me.

ANY ideas?? Anyone!! Sorry if I am repeating a thread, I searched...

greggasbike

Nov 23, 2010
north carolina
1) you don't need those wires connected ... but you do need the other blue and black connected correctly to the cdi

2) did you remove the cap on the spark plug so that it fits into the boot and connects to the cdi ? ( mainly do you have spark ?)

3) It could be your carb , check to see if the cables did not come out of their journals on the top of carb , if the choke is stuck open it may not start or the throttle stuck open , the same.

There is not much to these , but you have to do A LOT of tinkering to get them going right..... then its fun time !

thejdoe

Apr 29, 2011
AR
Came from gasbike.net from this link: GRUBEE SkyHawk GT5 66cc/80cc Slant Head Bike Motor Kit (Standard Finish)

You might laugh, but these instructions are pretty skimp. I think I know where my problem is. The section of instructions (Skyhawk Instructions) that tell me to install the Ignition Coil and Engine Kill Switch, it tells me to "mount CD ignition coil on bike frame, close enough to attach coil wire to spark plug."

I don't think I attached any wire to the spark plug. Is that where I've gone wrong?

thejdoe

Apr 29, 2011
AR
1. ok