riveted gas tank?

GoldenMotor.com

Royale

Oct 13, 2009
Colorado
While I wait for my new engine parts to come in I was thinking about what I'm going to do in regards to a gas tank. I have no experience welding and would rather do all the work myself, even if it makes things more complicated. I remember reading somewhere that some of the old Harleys had riveted tanks?

I feel confident that I could create a template, bend and rivet a box together for a tank, but my question is how best to seal it? I would imagine that in the corners there would be a very small amount of space gas could leak out. Should I just us epoxy or JBweld to seal all around these edges and put some on each rivet as I go around so that those are sealed too? Or maybe just build the box and put a layer of fiberglass over it?

I was also curious if anyone had built a tank such as in my lovely photoshop image below? It's not my bike but the frame is the same, '51 Schwinn. I made the tank translucent so you can see the frame rails. The tunnel is going to have to be quite large which may cause some issues with fuel getting trapped on one side, but can be angular so that I don't have to rivet something curved. Maybe run two spigots, one per side, and have them meet outside the tank to solve the fuel issue?

Anywho, just some ideas, thoughts/suggestions?

Attachments

Last edited:

Goat Herder

Gutter Rider
Apr 28, 2008
N.M.
Welcome to the forum Royale! Sounds like a riveting experience. lol Sorry I could not resist the pun. What I would do is fab it up to shape cherry! Then simply take it to a local welder. A local muffler shop could prolly pull this off? They weld about the same gauge steel on a regular basis.

Are you going with steel or aluminum? If Aluminum you will have to find a different welder. Still very possible. Many members here will have some great ideas. ;)

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
Don't use JB Weld. Most other glues won't do it either.