Newbie with pics needing advice.

GoldenMotor.com

SuperChris

May 2, 2014
Roseburg Oregon
So this is my first post and here is my bike
It vibrated really bad so I got a Dax PK80 remapped the port timing to 157/ 117 degrees

balanced and trued the crank

and I stuffed the cases. I'm sorry for the large pictures, I don't know how to make them smaller. Am I missing anything? Like I said, I'm a newbie and this is my first piston port setup. I also have a Puch Hi Hi that is going on the lathe to cut the squish band out to bore diameter, What squish gap is safe for these engines?

maniac57

Old, Fat, and still faster than you
Oct 8, 2011
memphis Tn
Looks like you got it under control! I believe about .030 is proper squish, but you should wait for someone more into high performance to chime in as I've never really done any work on my ht's.
A lot depends on the head design and chamber shape. Fred at CR machine knows heads if you give him a call, but don't be surprised if you end up with one of his heads instead...
You should also look into a better top end bearing. Search box for the moped and chainsaw part links. Get one that fits better than the stocker, which can slide halfway out since it's too narrow, A full width bearing will oil much better with the extra area exposed to charge and it's cheap insurance for any stage build.

Davezilla

Mar 15, 2014
San Antonio Texas
I agree with the .8 to 1mm squish as well, plenty enough clearance and good compression. .030" or .75mm is a really good place to set it and where I set mine to.

Theon

Jan 20, 2014
FNQ Australia
what is your current inlet duration?, Cutting the piston skirt to increase inlet duration is recommended, but easy to over do. 120 deg total inlet duration is usually recommended, a little more for higher revs.
Have not tried the titanium pin, but others say they wear fast with a bearing and should be used with a bush.

Davezilla

Mar 15, 2014
San Antonio Texas