ss wire o ring gasket, any one have tried this?

GoldenMotor.com

mech_engineer

Mar 3, 2014
Puerto Rico
I am new to 2 strokes, but i have been working with turbo cars for 6-7 years. We use cometic head gasket, but for racing aplications a friend run two ss wire oring without gasket for car with complete sealed block pasages. If i do this on my engine i can run it without a gasket. Any one have tried this. Is posible to have leak because the torque on the head is so low it do not create seal. In engineering terms less area to distribute the force more presure it generates in contact area this will help to create the seal. If it work no need to replace the gasket again.. any one have tried this? Or your opinion about this. I will upload pictures of ss wire o ring for those who dont know what is it.

Wild Bill

Jan 29, 2013
Camarillo So. Cal.
We ran copper o-ring for head gaskets when we were racing midgets, to be done right you have to cut a groove in the block for it to set in. We made our own tool for cutting the groove. The only reason to do this is extreme high compression like a China Girl could never handle so theres not a need for it. The aluminum gasket should be fine as long as both surfaces are flat and the head is torqued correctly and the studs aren't stretching.

2door

Staff member
Sep 15, 2008
Littleton, Colorado
We ran copper o-ring for head gaskets when we were racing midgets, to be done right you have to cut a groove in the block for it to set in. We made our own tool for cutting the groove. The only reason to do this is extreme high compression like a China Girl could never handle so theres not a need for it. The aluminum gasket should be fine as long as both surfaces are flat and the head is torqued correctly and the studs aren't stretching.
Ditto to everything Bill said.