CDI horror story. Help please...

GoldenMotor.com

zeroviral

Oct 20, 2013
Staten Island, NY
I'm not new to forums. didn't find a thread on this.

basically I am new to motorized bikes, bought my kit from gas bike.net if that's any help.

haven't had the bike running for about a month now, but all parts are properly installed and the bike is sitting in my garage. never ridden once, and I really need it asap .

my brother and I ordered these two kits and both of our CDIs will not work. they have NO charge whatsoever, and I've used a multimeter set to 2k of course. nothing. the magneto reads fine however, 320 ohms.

I ordered a new CDI from bike Berry that came yesterday and of course, just as I expected, its broken. no charge on cdi.

does the CDi take an initial charge from the magneto or does it come with an initial charge? please help because I don't think I'll have the patience to buy yet another cdi that will just come faulty already. I tried contacting both parties but they are not helpful and very rude to me. all I need is an electrical spark. I replaced the spark plug with an NGK BH5S. gapped to 26 thousandths(.026). please please please help.

p.s. thinking of getting the jaguar cdi caus moneys not an issue, but it will be if its just wasted on a problematic cdi junk item that will probably ship poorly treated with many damages, and probably no customer service or support in the end anyway.

I also helped set up my friends kit he ALSO ordered from gas bike.net and yet again no CDI charge! ugh. this is disgustingly disappointing and annoying. his magneto gave a charge but not the CDI...what's going on...do motorized bikes really exist or is this CDI made out of ethereal material I can only see because of my imagination...it really feels hopeless at this point.

:-||

Last edited:

rustycase

Gutter Rider
May 26, 2011
Left coast
There is no inherent charge within a cdi box.
Current is generated by the magneto.