hi, im new to everything

GoldenMotor.com

jvdunker12

Feb 16, 2010
Huntington Beach, Ca
So like my title implies, i am new to this forum, new to mechanics, new to engines, but i am used to bikes.
First off i am only 17, with a limeted knowledge of motors, and motorbikes.
I honestly would rather rebuild a car , but don't have enough money, which is why i am choosing to build a bike.

I am from california, so i can't legally drive a gas powered bike with out a motorcycle license, so i am leaning towards an electric bike. I have learned from the short time being on this site that there is a friction drive bike, can someone please explain how this works? Obviously it used friction from the motor to propel the bike.

Other Questions:
Can i use my cruiser, it is a three speed?
What kind of an Electric motor?
How do You Mount a motor?
What is the cost?
Where can i buy one?
Do you charge an electric motor through an outlet, are the motors DC or AC?

Can a knoweledgable membrer, help guide me? I might have broken rules by asking all of these questions. So can you tell me also how this forum works, and where to find answers to my questions

Bikeguy Joe

Godfather of Motorized Bicycles
Jan 8, 2008
up north now
Easy there killa', your fine here, no rules broken.

Now, there is one forum here called the DIY forum that will answer all your questions and more....it's really pretty simple to build one, and you have come to the right place for help.

It's good that you are choosing a bike over a car if you have limited knowledge....walk be fore running and all that.

wheelbender6

Sep 4, 2008
TX
Welcome to the forum. I lived in Tustin in the late 80s.
These machines are far easier to tinker with than a computer controlled car.
E-bikes have a good range if you are willing to pedal a bit.
I would build on a light mountain bike with street tires.
Hub motors are usually the easiest to install.