Life Expectancy for a Good Engine

GoldenMotor.com
Status
Not open for further replies.

Caergrim

Nov 23, 2009
Kingsport, TN
It sounds like a motorized cycle is a complete waste of money, then. $500 or so for a new engine every 3-4k miles is insane.

Thanks for the reply.

Caergrim

Nov 23, 2009
Kingsport, TN
What is the point, though? It is simply uneconomical to do it. $500 or more for 3-4k miles is a lot of money.

I am a student and I need a cheap solution for transportation. I was hoping this would be it.

Last edited:

bairdco

a guy who makes cool bikes
Aug 18, 2009
living the dream in southern california
hmmmm. i paid $150 for my grubee engine, and i've got about 1500 miles on it, and it's still running strong. i've had very minor problems, nothing i couldn't fix, and without spending any money.

the bike is 60 years old, and i paid $100 for it, plus another $150 for new 12g. spoked wheels, tires, seat, etc... if i take the motor off and put back the original parts, i could sell the bike for at least $250, maybe as much as $500 if i restore it. (as long as the motor won't rip it apart, which it shows no sign of doing yet.)

so, the way i look at it, i made an investment on the bike, and can turn a profit when i get a new one.

fuel costs are about $50.

i'm in for, what, $350? (i've been offered 6 for it, with the motor...)

so, i'm ahead so far.

in three months, i would've spent $400 on car insurance, plus i woulda had to register it in october, so another $200, at 11 mpg for the LT1 V8 Impala SS, for 3 months, would average me, i dunno, at least $100 per week. times 3 months, $1200.

$2000 so far. my check engine light was on when it got stolen, so there's another $100 - $300, depending on how many of my O2 sensors needed to be replaced. or i just coulda unhooked the battery, since those stupid sensors pretend to fail all the time.

i probably woulda got 1 ticket, so there's another 5 bills, but that's speculation.