Worksman PAV lost in the hills of GA

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by dwlynch, Jun 20, 2010.

  1. dwlynch

    dwlynch New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello from beautiful North Georgia. How far north? If I was any farther north I'd be in TN. My dear wife bought me a Worksman pav3 so that I and the dogs could get exercise. Unfortunately, she bought it with the Wilderness Energy system that worksman sells and it will not pull my big butt (even with pedaling) up the 500 ft 18 percent grade to home. What? You thought GA was flat? The county seat here is known as the queen city of the highlands. We are returning the electric system and I figure a gas motor should have the torque.

    Anyone tried this? Is there a kit? Oh, the pav3 is a lowrider trike with a 3 speed rear hub. Just the right height for going slow and staying upright with the dogs.
     
  2. curtisfox

    curtisfox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,007
    Likes Received:
    31
    WELCOME! I always loved the triyc's
    I don't think there is a kit just for your bike,but they are universal and should find a way to fit. Go down and check out : Motorized Tricycles and Recumbents : You should find something there to help. Any one in your neiborhood with a little mechincal skills that can weld should be able to help also
     
  3. corgi1

    corgi1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2,282
    Likes Received:
    1
    18 % grade for 500 feet,that is close to ropes and climing boots,lol
     
  4. curtisfox

    curtisfox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,007
    Likes Received:
    31
    Need a couple extra gears for sure
     
  5. dwlynch

    dwlynch New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are steeper ones than that in the neighborhood. I figure to gear it just for hillclimbing, not for running the engine all the time. Have to find a way to add more braking also, you have to go downgrade first :)
     
  6. corgi1

    corgi1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2,282
    Likes Received:
    1
    A bungi cord for going to the main box,lol
     
  7. wheelbender6

    wheelbender6 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,816
    Likes Received:
    10
    You may be able to up your voltage by 12 volts with a bigger controller and another battery. if you want to do that, you should start a new thread, asking about overvolting the Wilderness Energy kit listing the original volts and amphours of your system.
    Some brands of motors will respond well with a 12 volt overvolt and some will overheat.
    With a motor rated at 500w, you may be able to overvolt it without damage.

    I still have some kin in Jasper & Dawsonville.
     
  8. dwlynch

    dwlynch New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    At this point returning it to Worksman. The torque isn't there. Joshua from evsolutions had a couple of ideas for motors with 2 to 3 times the ft lbs of torque. Stanton has a kit but I'm hesitant to believe that a 35cc engine is gonna power me up the hill. I figure somewhere between 200 and 250 cc should be about right.
     
  9. Kevlarr

    Kevlarr New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unless you need the step thru design I don't think anything looks better then a cruiser frame sitting on one of Spooky Tooth's trike conversions. Toss in a 66cc motor, shift kit, 7 speed hub and you should have all the power you need.
     
  10. dwlynch

    dwlynch New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm back. Front wheel and electrics have been returned to worksman, waiting for them to get me the regular one with the brake - two week wait so far, with 3 phone calls. Been on the phone with Dave Staton - he has designed a two speed ( one for hillclimbing, one for cruising) that I have on order with a Honda 50cc. Will let you know how this installs and turns out.
     
  11. dwlynch

    dwlynch New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK. It works fine. The worksman pav is NOT built using jigs. It seems every frame is different. Staton agreed after he put 4 engine setups on 4 pavs. All different.
     

Share This Page