why

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by bakl12, Nov 9, 2009.

  1. bakl12

    bakl12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    is it that i have to put up my chocke then try to start my engine then put down my chocke so i can ride my bike i have never had this problem before... anyone???:-||
     
  2. 42blue15

    42blue15 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    "Choke", I guess you mean?

    Two things I'd check:
    1) your air filter is getting dirty (will still work for a while, but engine is already not producing full power), or-
    2) junk in your fuel jet.....
    ~
     
  3. Maxvision

    Maxvision New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0
    Didja put an inline fuel filter between your carb and gas tank?
     
  4. bakl12

    bakl12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    i lost the idle screw on the motor and i forgot to cover the whole so im guessing air got into it could that be the probelm
     
  5. Maxvision

    Maxvision New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hrmmm....could be...

    Did the problem start right after you lost it?

    That open hole could be causing your bike to run LEAN. Expect a melted piston in the near future.
     
  6. bakl12

    bakl12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    well i got a new screw for it but i dont know when the problem started because i lost it when i was still installing the motor so i started running it when i got the new screw should i just buy a new motor
     
  7. bakl12

    bakl12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    wait why did you mention the filter because i have one between the carb and the tank
     
  8. bairdco

    bairdco a guy who makes cool bikes

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,396
    Likes Received:
    49
    wait. so you just need the choke to start it, and then it warms up right away and you put the choke down and it's fine?

    that's normal.

    i start my bike with the choke up, then depending on how fast it warms up, i put it down and everything's fine. usually 10 to 20 seconds with the choke on works for me.

    that's what a choke does. it's for cold starts.
     
  9. bakl12

    bakl12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh really well this is the first time out of the 8 that ive had that this has happened to me well its good to know im not the only one also saved some money buy not buying a new motor
     
  10. bairdco

    bairdco a guy who makes cool bikes

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,396
    Likes Received:
    49
    if it just takes a few seconds with the choke on to get it running, everything's normal.

    as the weather gets colder, you'll need to use the choke more often to start it.
     
  11. skjjoe

    skjjoe Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    get a new idle screw before you burn that engine up:-||
     
  12. Bikeguy Joe

    Bikeguy Joe Godfather of Motorized Bicycles

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    11,529
    Likes Received:
    3
    Fo'sho'.
    .................
     

Share This Page