Today I made the first test run

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by Flyman, Dec 21, 2014.

  1. Flyman

    Flyman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I ran my first build this evening.My first try I threw the
    chain.I got that worked out I think, & ran it up & down the road
    some.

    I still have adjustments to make.I have the idle in almost all
    the way, but break in & heavy oil, so no big deal.My pull
    breaks are not stopping like they should, but new bike & they
    seemed to get better the more I road.

    I will go over this thing tomorrow, for it was getting dark.But
    what fun.Lot's of work still to do, in routing wires, cables, adjusting
    brakes & so on.I promise to post pic tomorrow.Been saying that, but
    just been working on this & that.I never thought it would take this
    long to get it up & running.

    But being first build I guess so_Oh well enough of my rambling
    for now.

    Fly drn2
     
  2. Davezilla

    Davezilla New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    1
    They're all this way... Gotta get them together first, then the test ride, then back in for adjustments... then once everything is working it's time to start the cable and wire routing to make it all look nice and neat, then at some point ya just decide to ride it and enjoy the build. I'm finally happy with mine... for now, but I still need to take everything back off for paint, and a few things I want to weld to the frame instead of the bolt on brackets etc, but I'll get to that maybe when it gets too cold to ride or I get enough free time to get it all done.

    Post some pics once you get th chance so we can see what you came up with.
     
  3. Flyman

    Flyman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know something I need to ask.My throttle cable is way to long.But if I
    cut it, what to do about the ball on the end of the inter cable.Do you just silver
    solder a the end or is there something I can buy the pinches on the end?

    Fly
     
  4. Greg58

    Greg58 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2,848
    Likes Received:
    60
    Flyman I had one cable that was too long for the cns2 carb when it first came out, I found a bicycle cable kit at Walmart that had a split adapter that I put at the grip end and it worked perfect. I ran that set up for about three years. Out of the six kits I've built one nt carb wouldn't idle with the needle in the leanest position, I move the clip down one notch and it idled like it should, it seemed that the needle was a bit long from the factory.
     
    #4 Greg58, Dec 21, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2014
  5. Rudz

    Rudz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    0
    Better too long than too short. Look into Kool stop Salmon pads for those rim brakes. Best rim brakes you can buy.
     
  6. crassius

    crassius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,473
    Likes Received:
    43
    I leave them long - after a while you may want diff handlebars to be more comfy - these may be higher or wider (I like a quill extender to put bars way higher).
     
  7. Greg58

    Greg58 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2,848
    Likes Received:
    60
    The overall length of the cable was not my problem, the cable in the housing was. Even with the adjusters all the way out the barrel would not open fully.
     
  8. LR Jerry

    LR Jerry Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its always a joy to be able to ride after the bugs are worked out.
     
  9. apex

    apex Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    This.=> Shorten a Cable 2: http://youtu.be/0y27QZOCl50
     
  10. graydog8josh

    graydog8josh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    1
    fly lets see some pictures!!
     
  11. crassius

    crassius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,473
    Likes Received:
    43
    if both the usual adjusters are all the way out, one can get a bit more by turning the elbow fitting on the throttle grip body out a bit, but be careful as that is only mounted into plastic and can crack easily

    one can also get a tiny lock washer, open it a bit to fit over inner at the top of the carb, then squeeze it closed again to hold the cable outer a bit off the carb top rather that seated down in the socket there

    be sure the plastic stop inside the throttle grip is still there, as sometimes this gets bad and a small piece of metal needs to be added inside to make a new stop
     
  12. Commander Billypool

    Commander Billypool New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah got a pull brake on mine, if you take up on the cable until the brake pads are in slight contact with the wheel tighten the wire nut down at that point you'll get the leverage your needing to get fair results compared to loosely fitted pads ..
     
  13. Flyman

    Flyman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    The pic of my new ride.
    [​IMG]

    Fly
     

Share This Page