Tachometer ????

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by Flyman, Jan 25, 2015.

  1. Flyman

    Flyman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    I,m wanting to buy a tachometer for my bike. Like anyone I don't want to
    spend a arm & leg. E-bay has cheap to $$$$$$ ones. I really would like to have
    a conventicle hand dial type, but afraid the vibration on these motors would
    shake the hand right off.

    Before I jump off & buy one I need you guys advice AGAIN.

    Thanks Fly.flg.
     
  2. Davezilla

    Davezilla New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    3
    Most of us use those cheaper digital ones that go for about $30 or so on ebay, So far I hadn't seen any analog ones that would work...
     
  3. mapbike

    mapbike Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5,380
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had one of the ones like you see for cheap on ebay, it worked good for a while but the battery in it didn't even last one summer and after taking it apart to change the battery I found that the battery can't be changed in it, some of them are probably better than the one I had.

    I wouldn't own another like the one I had, slow response and it didn't last long at all.
     
  4. Animatronicus

    Animatronicus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    How could the battery not be changed? Couldn't you just cut the old battery out? Solder a new one in?
    I wonder what tach it was?
     
  5. Flyman

    Flyman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks fellows I have kinda run in to that on analog.They look cool & all
    but so be it.Now I read some where, on the digital ones you need to buy a two
    wire system, I assume one for plug wire & one for ground.It was said a single
    wire system, got interference ot something as that.Dave can you look & see
    what brand you have.With my luck I will order the wrong one.

    Thanks Fly
     
  6. Davezilla

    Davezilla New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    3
  7. Flyman

    Flyman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks, that what I need.
    Flydnut
     
  8. wret

    wret Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    10
    I've got one of these. Surprisingly pretty good in spite of the low cost. I believe it would read double the rpms for a 2-stroke.

    I'm currently taking apart the matching speedo to repaint the gauge for mph instead of kph. Might be an option for a tachometer as well. Getting the bezel off is a real POA though.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Davezilla

    Davezilla New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    3
    I got one like that on my Sportster but the vibration shook it to death rather quickly... I think it lasted a month or 2 riding it daily but those 2 screws in there that secure the gauge dial came out and now the whole dial just bounces around inside the tach with no easy way to open iit up and fix it.

    There's also a good chance it would read double since most of these are set up for a 4 stroke, I thought I saw an analog one somewhere before that would read a 2 stroke accurately but it was rather pricy.
     
  10. Flyman

    Flyman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ya there is some out there for two stroke if you want to pay the price.But
    you can only tie up so much money in one of these deals, at least for me.

    I know theres people out there that do, but one of the things that drew
    me into this hobby was the cheap cost.

    Fly
     
  11. Davezilla

    Davezilla New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yup... the cheap under $15 tach does the same job but it can be difficult to make out the numbers with the digital readout, but I can usually focus on the numbers on a straightaway to see what the engine's doing. Of course, analog is way better because you can just glance down and instantly know what rpm or speed you're at, but when I can get something that works for under $15 that's what I'll use.

    I've had a few cars with digital gauges before and I hated it because I had to actually look at it to see how fast I was going instead of just a quick glance, so definitely on my cars and motorcycles it's analog all the way.
     
  12. scotto-

    scotto- Custom 4-Stroke Bike Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6,530
    Likes Received:
    6
    I've heard that if you run Opti 2 @ 100:1 that it lessens vibrations and aids in the performance of this tachometer working flawlessly on a 2-stroke.

    Ya know what they say about hearsay? laff
     
  13. SpecializedMountainMoto

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    9
  14. Davezilla

    Davezilla New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    3
    Those are nice with the larger readout and all, their temp meter looks really good too.
     
  15. mapbike

    mapbike Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5,380
    Likes Received:
    1
    That is the exact one I had planned to get next, I've seen other members on here that have used those and said they last and do a good job.

    I want the tach and the temp gauge so I can keep track of both when on the long high rpm cruises like the 12 mile one I did today at wot throttle most of the way.
     
  16. scotto-

    scotto- Custom 4-Stroke Bike Builder

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6,530
    Likes Received:
    6
    Are there other throttle positions than WOT? My throttle is like a switch......it's either on or off laff

    Tach and temp are all that really matters.....who cares about MPH? Is this a race? No, it's not.
     
  17. gaffo

    gaffo Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the Trail Tach on my goped - never really worked. WOT says RPM is 3500-6500.....jumps all over and between. kinda useless. I may try to re-install the leadwire in hopes of getting better results, but no bothered to yet.

    as for the HS-49cc 4 stroker (which I have) - dumb question, does this thing have a governor, and if so how would I know and how would I removed it?
     
  18. GoreWound

    GoreWound New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not the best at math, but couldn't you get a dial speedometer, crunch some numbers, and add an rpm readout to the dial.
    uhh help me out here google...
    there we go
    it would need to be calibrated specifically to your bike though.
     

Share This Page