Stupid Chp

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by SoldierBoy, Feb 6, 2014.

  1. SoldierBoy

    SoldierBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    they gave me a ticket for riding my motorized bike the dude called it a moped lol its a peddle assisted bike i was wearing a motorcycle helmet in the bike lane under 30 mph he pulled me over right in front of the dmv to lol they have a guide that tells you about motorized bikes to bad it was closed that day went to go fight the ticket later turns out because im a minor they threw it outdnut
     
  2. miked826

    miked826 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    4
    You can ride a moped/motorized bicycle in the bike lane. So what did he nail you for.....exactly, regardless of what the CHP call your bike?
     
  3. SoldierBoy

    SoldierBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    being un registered not having my license to ride it
     
  4. SoldierBoy

    SoldierBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    meaning he classified it as a moped u need registration tags on the back like dirt bikes i did not have them
     
  5. miked826

    miked826 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,748
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm shocked he even knew what to nail you for. Most of them don't.

    You need to have a moped plate on that thing. It's a $20, one time fee. That gave him the power to pull you over. Then he nailed you for no M2 license. Get the plate and don't give them any reason to stop you again. It worked for me.
     
  6. Kioshk

    Kioshk Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    5
    Did a search on "ponch moped":
    [​IMG]


    Then I saw THIS! Gotta get one:
    [​IMG]
     
  7. SoldierBoy

    SoldierBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    ... dmv out in LA county hand book says only need to be in bike lane under 30mph the bike needs to have petals so your able to petal needs to be smaller the 80cc so how come the court threw it out
     
  8. MotorBicycleRacing

    MotorBicycleRacing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5,690
    Likes Received:
    30
    Actually the CHP had it right so you were lucky to get off. :)

    $20 lifetime license plate.
    http://www.dmv.ca.gov/forms/reg/reg230.pdf

    To get a M1 or M2 if you are under 21 you have to take the motorcycle safety course.


    http://www.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/dl655/mcycle_htm/requirements.htm

    Motorcycle Handbook License Requirements

    California issues the following license classes for two-wheel vehicle operation:

    Class M1—You may operate any two-wheel motorcycle, motor-driven cycle, or motorized scooter and all vehicles listed under Class M2.
    NOTE: The permit and license requirements in this handbook pertain to two-wheel vehicles and are referenced in Section12804.9 of the California Vehicle Code.

    Class M2—You may operate any motorized bicycle, moped, or a bicycle with an attached motor, or a motorized scooter.
    You may obtain a Class M1 or M2 license at any DMV office which provides driver license services. Motorcycle law tests and skill tests are required.

    NOTE: Class C licensees may operate a motorcycle with a side car attached or a three-wheel motorcycle.
     
    #8 MotorBicycleRacing, Feb 6, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2014
  9. SoldierBoy

    SoldierBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    CHP is a cop not a poncho
     
  10. SoldierBoy

    SoldierBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. SoldierBoy

    SoldierBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Read page 7 you will see what i mean
     
  12. MotorBicycleRacing

    MotorBicycleRacing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5,690
    Likes Received:
    30
    There is absolutely nothing in the DMV codes about being under 80cc or even under 50cc.
    You made that up? :D

    Read the motorized bike license plate form reg230.PDF if you wanna know what it really says.
    http://www.dmv.ca.gov/forms/reg/reg230.pdf
     
    #12 MotorBicycleRacing, Feb 6, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2014
  13. SoldierBoy

    SoldierBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    i didnt make anything up i just could not remember if i heard it from my father or from the dmv i got the ticked in october of 2012
     
  14. SoldierBoy

    SoldierBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. 2door

    2door Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16,304
    Likes Received:
    29
    You were stopped/ticketed in 2012 and you're just posting about it here, now? What is your point?

    Tom
     
  16. MotorBicycleRacing

    MotorBicycleRacing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5,690
    Likes Received:
    30
    Read page 2 where it says you need a M2 license to ride a motorized bike then read the reg230.PDF where it describes the requirements for a gas powered motorized bike.

    In fact just read the whole PDF and stop trying to selectively quote something that isn't even there on page 7? :D
     
  17. GearNut

    GearNut Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,105
    Likes Received:
    2
    License plate requirement info:
    http://www.dmv.ca.gov/pubs/reg_hdbk/ch21/ch21_27.htm

    MBR already gave the link to the application form for a plate.


    We are not here to fool you or to try and nit-pick/ disagree with what you are saying.
    We are here to help you.
     
  18. Kioshk

    Kioshk Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes, but Ponch is a CHiP:
    [​IMG]
     
  19. SoldierBoy

    SoldierBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    posting about it now to see if anyone had the same but i guess im wrong were can i buy the plate at just the dmv
     
  20. bairdco

    bairdco a guy who makes cool bikes

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,352
    Likes Received:
    28
    Print out the form MBR linked and send it in with 20 bucks. use the bike's serial number whete it asks for a vin number, and add an E to the same number for the engine id number. should get the plate in 2-3 weeks.

    California is one of the few states that are very clear on the laws for our bikes. If you want to know everything, google "california dmv index m" and scroll down to motorized bicycles.
     

Share This Page