Speedometer on crack when riding bike?!

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by NerpAngel, Oct 14, 2009.

  1. NerpAngel

    NerpAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Um.. So I just installed a speedo on my bike and it works fine when I just test it when the motor's not on, but when I start my bike and get riding it freaks out and resets or flashes like it's a horror film. Any reason behind this maybe??? :(
     
  2. HoughMade

    HoughMade New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    1
    RFI- radio frequency interference.

    Try to route the wire (if it uses one) away from the ignition system and see if that helps.
     
  3. NerpAngel

    NerpAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    It does only use one. But.... how can I route that one wire if my ignition box is right below my handlebars... Like where every else ignition box goes basically.
     
  4. wes

    wes New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    i wrapped my spedo wire around the brake cable and then it jumps over to the handle bars
     
  5. NerpAngel

    NerpAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright! I'll try that :) Thanks
     
  6. wes

    wes New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    this keeps my wire away from all other wires, a little bit of electrical tape to hold the wire in place works well for me,
     
  7. bseelbach

    bseelbach New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. AnthonyX99

    AnthonyX99 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    or go to your local bike shop and grab a (Sigma Sport BC 506) speedometer they can read up to 300kph and don't scramble I got the wired one no problems yet.
     
  9. 2door

    2door Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16,308
    Likes Received:
    30
    I found that even my clutch cable if close to my speedo wires caused problems. My CDIs are mounted on the seat post not the down tube and I keep the speedometer wire away from anything that is connected to the engine. Seems to work for me.
    Tom
     
  10. Jimbo

    Jimbo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone know how to reset the schwinn speedometer? somehow got it on kilo, need MPH lost directions.
     
  11. Kevlarr

    Kevlarr New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Press both buttons at once for a few seconds
     

Share This Page