speedometer computer

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by Legwon, Mar 31, 2013.

  1. Legwon

    Legwon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. crassius

    crassius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    43
    I read it as 60cm - got glasses?
     
  3. Legwon

    Legwon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    look at the drawing
     
  4. Powertool

    Powertool Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    might not work with motorized bike
     
  5. Legwon

    Legwon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    i was thinking the same thing when i read the instructions, but its not wireless. so there wouldn't(shouldn't?) be any interference.
     
  6. Powertool

    Powertool Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh, thought you had a wireless unit, my bad
     
  7. 2door

    2door Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16,301
    Likes Received:
    25
    Even wired speedos can sometimes be affected by the ignition system. There is a lot of discussion here regarding speedometers and interference. Use the Google Custom Search, type in 'speedometer' and you'll have plenty to rear.

    As for instructions that have been translated into English, you never know what you'll see/read. The booklet that comes with the Bell speedo shows the magnet/sensor mounted on the left front fork but the instructions say to mount it on the right side :)

    Tom
     
  8. maniac57

    maniac57 Old, Fat, and still faster than you

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    4,486
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just be sure the magnet is close to the pickup...that's the 6cm measurement, (should be 6MM) It does not matter where you mount it as long as it is close to the pickup as the wheel spins.
     
  9. 2door

    2door Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16,301
    Likes Received:
    25
    And look for the little arrow on the sensor. The magnet on the spokes should line up exactly with that arrow. Otherwise your speedometer won't work well.

    Tom
     
  10. Legwon

    Legwon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    actually is 1.5mm max spacing between magnet and sensor :s tight fit.

    right, ill have to look at that .
     
  11. LR Jerry

    LR Jerry Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    My techometer/ hour counter and wired speedometer both say to keep separate from other electric systems.
     
  12. Wild Bill

    Wild Bill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a wired speedo and it didnt work until I changed the plug wire to a carbon core wire. Later after I installed the Jag cdi it quit working again (Wacky readings) even after I put a carbon wire on the jag coil so I ordered an old skool cable drive speedo.
     
  13. crassius

    crassius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    43
    reading the instructions gives accurate measurements - 'course some folks only look at the pics : (
     
  14. biknut

    biknut Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6,365
    Likes Received:
    3
    It's a typo. What they're trying to say is the transmitter can't be more than 60cm from the computer.

    Since that's a wireless speedo, you'll probably be getting RF interference at some engine speeds.
     

Share This Page