replacing the stupid kit throttle

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by rock out, Oct 14, 2013.

  1. rock out

    rock out New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. 2door

    2door Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16,308
    Likes Received:
    30
    As long as it will fit a 7/8" handlebar, which is standard for most bicycles, you're good to go. Tell us how it works out for you after you've tried it.

    Tom
     
  3. mew905

    mew905 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    1
    22mm is 7/8, looks like hes good to go :) not a bad find at all
     
  4. KCvale

    KCvale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,942
    Likes Received:
    29
    It all depends on what throttle cable you have as unlike every other cable on our motorized bicycles the throttle has a fitting on each end, which means you can't cut the cable and if the length can't be adjusted to give you what is needed on the barrel end (~1") it will be too tight artificially setting idle too high, or too loose so you have a bunch of slop in your throttle action.

    Your does not come with a cable so you will have to use yours.
    SBP sales one with cable and options for like $19 here.
    http://www.sickbikeparts.com/catalo...ucts_id=169&osCsid=6gt61i7u4rkrjdo95dtgdpuff0

    I've used a couple, they work nice and the pulley it refers to is in the handle.
     
  5. Danschutz

    Danschutz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Newb alert question!

    What is the best way to add a kill switch if you go with this throttle upgrade?

    Dan.
     
  6. Danschutz

    Danschutz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've looked at this throttle. The ad says it works with NT and CNS carbs. I'm planning on running another rt carb. So I can use this throttle just need to replace the cable?

    Thanks, Dan.
     
  7. 2door

    2door Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    16,308
    Likes Received:
    30
    My vote would be for any good quality normally open momentary switch. Mount it so it can be easily reached while keeping your hands on the grips. But that's just me.

    Tom
     
  8. mapbike

    mapbike Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5,380
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sbp has a couple good handle bar mount kill switches, I bought one a couple weeks ago myself.

    Map
     
  9. rock out

    rock out New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I finally received the throttle a month later. Cable was to short as I feared but I decided to try and dremel off the elbow to give me a little bit more length it works but I thinks its a tinny bit to tight gonna order a cable. I should of just ordered from sbp. What should I rejet my nt speed cab ( the red cap one) im at 218m elevation
     
  10. Huffydavidson

    Huffydavidson STREETRACER/MANUFACTURER

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fred's high compression head for the compression release, there's a kill switch
     
  11. CTripps

    CTripps Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    0
    At 218m (715 ft) elev., I wouldn't worry about rejetting your carb for now. Maybe play with the needle clip setting a bit if you need to. Remember, as it gets colder the density of the air increases so running it a bit rich over colder months will balance out.
     

Share This Page