Remove Engine Sprocket Without Puller?

Discussion in 'Motorized Bicycle General Discussion' started by BeaverRat, Jul 22, 2011.

  1. BeaverRat

    BeaverRat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    I am extremely frusterated right now...

    :-||

    I have my replacement 415 sprocket to install on the engine, but I just realized my kit did not come with a puller. I tried running the 415 on the 410 sprocket that is installed on the engine right now and it did not work.

    Is there any way of removing the sprocket without the puller tool (possibly make one)? I took the nut off, but the sprocket is still stuck on. I have been waiting about a month for all the parts to arrive, and they just got here today, and I would hate to have to wait another week to get a puller from Dax or PistonBikes...

    Thanks
     
  2. rohmell

    rohmell Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think your best bet would be to buy the puller that is supposed to be provided with the kit.
    That way, you can also use it to pull the clutch gears if you ever need to.
     
  3. Goat Herder

    Goat Herder Gutter Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,251
    Likes Received:
    3
    That particular gear may pop off for ya with out a puller. First off you will want to pry up on it with two screw drivers a the same time. Get nice wide flat ones. You will be able to pry between the engine case and sprocket. It may very well just come loose if you pry ''evenly'' is the key!

    Important do not pry towards the seal behind the sprocket. Pry away screw driver handle moving away from you.

    Have a buddy there for an extra hand start your sprocket nut back on but leave it very loose. Have a pointed sharp end chisel like a drift punch. put that at the center of the axle shaft so's not to damage threads in any way. Take a hammer to this punch while prying up on the said sprocket. Give it a tap sprocket should pop loose.

    In this video he whacks the shaft with the nut further down you do not have this option. A puller sometimes I will gently whack the center puller bolt to get relief.


    ‪01 MG Steering Wheel Removal‬‏ - YouTube
    There is not enough shaft and threads here. go dead center of the threaded axle shaft with your slightly sharpened chisel punch. No this trick will not work for every part on these motors. The right puller tool is the official puller!! Apr-ouched with due diligence will get your engine sprocket off. It sits on a tapered end to the shaft. Prying just right , the shock and vib from the punch should do ok for just this sprocket.
     
  4. BeaverRat

    BeaverRat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    You know what, I was thinking about this and I thought of something.

    Why is the chain acting up in the first place? I did some research and I found that 410 and 415 are both 1/2" pitch chain. My plan was to move my old sprocket (from my broken engine) onto the new engine, cause the chain was acting like it didn't fit on the new sprocket. But my question is, why would the chain (415) not fit on the new engine sprocket? Shouldn't all the china kit engine sprockets be the same?

    Maybe I got a defective sprocket?
     
  5. Goat Herder

    Goat Herder Gutter Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,251
    Likes Received:
    3
  6. Goat Herder

    Goat Herder Gutter Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,251
    Likes Received:
    3
    Do you have chain links that are sticking? That will do it big time. Does every single link in your chain flow perfectly in yours hands so to speak? A frozen stiff section of links will make havoc.

    Also some folks have reported the 415 and 41 rubbing on some of these motors until this little mod was done. http://motorbicycling.com/f30/motorized-bicycle-chain-noise-6682.html
     
  7. DuctTapedGoat

    DuctTapedGoat Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,179
    Likes Received:
    8
    You prolly just need to break in the engine sprocket.
     
  8. Wm Holden

    Wm Holden New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    1
    the castings are not good...you have to round the tops of the teeth with a dremel or die grinder to make it work sometimes...my first bike could not be backed up with out the chain binding and popping off...once I did the rounding...no problem in either direction.

    They should not be square on top
     
  9. BeaverRat

    BeaverRat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll try and explain it better... I have 2 engines. One is new, one is old. They are the same engine kit. My old one had some very major issues, so the company that makes my kit agreed to take it back and send me a new one. I have not sent the old one back yet.

    I hooked up the new engine (installed it into frame) and was about to maiden it when I noticed the chain was not rolling nicely on the engine sprocket. This was not an issue on the old engine. The only new part I got is the new engine. All of the other components (chain, and rear sprocket) are from the old kit.

    So, my plan is to remove the sprocket from the engine that I am about to send back (cause it works great, no chain binding) and install it on the new engine.

    My question is: why is the new sprocket binding on the chain? They should be the same exact sprocket (they are both the same exact engine).
     
  10. DuctTapedGoat

    DuctTapedGoat Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,179
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ahhh. Get a new chain, pref 415 or 41. You prolly have stretched links.
     

Share This Page