Newbie here

GoldenMotor.com

Jruck

Apr 1, 2012
Arkansas
Well Im a Newbie when it comes to Motorized Bicycles. used to motorcycles. Im wanting a good reliable engine to run in a Beach cruiser style frame. Would like suggestions on what i should get. and do to make it run nice. I will be only Riding it to and from work. most of the road is Flat. then down hill then back to flat to work. After work at between 2am and 4am will be flat then uphill for a small incline then mainly flat. Would like to be able to get bout 40-45mph . 35mph is on some of our roads here. but still would like to get atleast 40. really want reliability so mainly looking for a 4 stroke.

Dan

Staff
May 25, 2008
Moosylvania
Howdy Jruck, welcome.

Given that you will be riding in the dark and the speeds you want, a scooter might be better suited. I in no way mean to dissuade you. MBs are a blast but as yet do not have adequate intrinsic lighting and even 40 MPH on a stock bicycle is pushing it most especially on a dark road. Sand, potholes, glass can all make for a real bad day that night.

Just my thinking and don't want ya to have trouble commuting and certainly don't want see ya hurt.

But can be done. Post lots of pics on what ever you decide and again, welcome.

Jruck

Apr 1, 2012
Arkansas
All roads i will be riding on are well lit roads. plus i plan on adding a small generator and such to run head lights and tail lights .

rustycase

Gutter Rider
May 26, 2011
Left coast
Welcome aboard J,

We've got a Speed thread going now, near the top of the heap.
How fast does your bike go???
You might review that thread and see what riders are doing, with which combination.
And I would agree with everything Dan just said.

AND, bicycle brakes are really not up to sustained braking from the speeds you would like to travel at. IMO...

Good luck
rc

Sidewinder Jerry

Dec 19, 2011
Rockwood, TN
Here are important questions to consider when building for yourself or others: