New Texas Member

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by CajunJamie, Feb 18, 2011.

1. CajunJamie

CajunJamie New Member

Hi,
    I am brand new to this forum and have been doing some reading. I want to do my first build in a couple weeks, so I have spent the last two days looking at what bike and what kit. I saw a build with an engine from Zoom Bicycle, but they are out of stock. I went to ThatsDax.com, but I do not see a 66/80cc engine/tank in black.

Here is what I am looking at. $149 + $20 to ship to Texas.

Any thoughts on this? I am a hobbyist who wants a dependable black kit, and I understand if it comes from China it's not a Honda or Subaru.

Thanks!
    Jamie

#1 CajunJamie, Feb 18, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 18, 2011
  2. CajunJamie

CajunJamie New Member

Hi all,
    Tom asked me to give a little background on myself and told me I can not yet post links to reduce spam, so that is ok.

What got me interested in a build was a couple days ago I was trying to decide on an affordable cruiser, bike only. I like a Huffy Karaoke I saw, white and orange trim. However, the image that I saw had a motor mounted on the bike. At first I ignored it, then it got my attention. I was recently given a Razor scooter (I am 39 years old) that was wrecked and I was going to replace the throttle and control unit and use it for my 2-block commute to work. (I live in a very small east Texas university town - 6,000 people.)

Instead I decided to delay the scooter project and do the motor-bicycle project. The project I saw with the Karaoke was from this forum, by Foeller32 and his thread is "Latest Build - Huffy Karaoke Cruiser"

I followed his model, but his supplier is out of the kit until March or April, DAX only shows a silver engine, and so I really would like a recommendation on an 80cc slant black kit for under $200 shipped. I saw a Grubee kit, but would like feedback on them (or anyone else for that matter) before buying.

Thanks!
    Jamie