Just finished install of 48cc Skyhawk

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by packerfan, Dec 29, 2009.

  1. packerfan

    packerfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just joined , helped my son with a Skyhawk 48cc installation, seemed to go Ok , just the usual snafu's when dealing with imported products. We are having trouble with the Carb though - it leaks a lot when not running - and throttle doesn't seem to do much either! when it runs it is full throttle or nothing - I did open it up and found a big burr where the idle adjustment screw was threaded in , cleaned that up but still having major leaks- are there any good troubleshooting guides for these carbs ??

    When it is running this bike is a ton of fun !
     
  2. city of angels

    city of angels New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    try tighting all the screws in the carb is that doesnt work i will call the company where you got it from and ask them for a new one if you are still having problems call usabikemotors.com they are located it at ruthraff and la cholla i only live a couple of blocks away from their shoptheir number is 777-0924
     
  3. Nougat

    Nougat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Major leaks of gasoline, I presume? The only place gas would be leaking from on the carb would be on the fuel intake tube and between the float bowl and carb body, if those aren't tight enough. Otherwise, it sounds like you have a float problem, bad float not lifting the needle valve closed, and fuel keeps pouring in when it shouldn't be. Then you'll get overflow into the intake path and all over the place.

    I'm with city, though, see if your vendor will replace the carb. You shouldn't have to deal with that on a brand new machine.
     
  4. Dave31

    Dave31 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    11,207
    Likes Received:
    13
    Welcome packerfan, always cool to have another Tucsonan at motorbicycling.com...there's a bunch of us. We have Rallys and Death Race in the Old Pueblo, hope you can make it out to one.

    I think Nougat got it right, as far as your throttle cable issue did you have to install the cable yourself or did the throttle cable come already assembled with the carb?

    The guys at USA/Freedom are very nice and helpful.
     
  5. packerfan

    packerfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks to all who have responded - took the carb apart last night and found that they had not screwed in the main jet tube , it as just kind of stuck in there - that explains the throttle problems , and the float had filled with gas , which explains the gas leaking all over - brought it back to Ace hardware and they just handed me a new carb - we checked it , installed it and the motor now runs excellent ! Thanks again for all the help
     
  6. chopperjoe

    chopperjoe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello newbee, take the bowl off the bottom of carb,(2 phillips screws) check the little white float to see if it is filled with gas.I had the same issue with my Grubee, also make sure you close the petcock when not running engine. and please change that cheap fuel line with some black rubber line. If float has a leak it should be under warranty, i was sent 2 new ones, but they took their time. (Kings Motorbikes). While you have the bowl off check tightness on the brass main jet that goes that goes through center of float. Also replace that junk plug boot, with anything else that has a snap fit, it simply unscrews from end of wire. Have fun and good luck, you found the right website. Its all here. Chopper joe
     
    #6 chopperjoe, Dec 31, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2009
  7. azbill

    azbill Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    lots of arizonans here !
    welcome from FH :)
     
  8. Cabinfever1977

    Cabinfever1977 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1
    How did ace hardware have a carb for these kits, is that where you bought the kit?
    or did they just happen to have a carb that would fit your engine.

    I dont have a ace hardware where i live so i was just wondering.
     
  9. Nougat

    Nougat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's some Ace Hardware stores in Tuscon all owned by the same guy, and he decided to stock these kits. Yay for Tuscon!
     
  10. city of angels

    city of angels New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    the people from gas bike net have a contract with ace hard ware to stocks this motor kit when you buy a kit from ace they will refer you to gas bike i think thats reason why he could get a new carb so quickly plus the motor still under waranty i hope
     
  11. rkorson4209

    rkorson4209 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    No way thats cool. I have ace hardwares in my area and no motor kits
     

Share This Page